Searching for Pacific information
When searching this site for Pacific information, try general keywords like Oceania, Pacific Area, South Pacific, and specific keywords like place names and people names.
If you are looking for historical information, remember that many of the names of places in the Pacific have changed, or changed in the way that they are spelt over the early period of Pacific written language use. Some places may have been known by an English, German, or French name for a time.
One excellent starting point is Pacific Island Names, which has maps and groupings of Pacific islands and also a 600 name index linking old names/spellings to the official name. For example, Fox Island's official name is now Nanuya Balavu.
Finding recent information about the Pacific
If you are interested in finding recent or current information about the Pacific and Pacific peoples, journals and magazines are a good place to start. Try requesting the latest issue of these journals, or search for your topic and filter your results to display only information in journals.
The Contemporary Pacific (available in full-text online from the reading room via Gale Group InfoTrac OneFile Journals)
Journal of Pacific History (available online from the reading room only)
Journal of the Polynesian Society (available in full-text online from 1892 to 2010)
Pacific information in electronic resources
The National Library subscribes to many electronic resources that can provide information about the Pacific and Pacific peoples. Index New Zealand is available to view via the National Library website; the other titles are available to view only onsite at the National Library in Molesworth Street.
Academic Research Library (Proquest)
General subjects. Full-text.
Country Reports and Profiles Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Current economic, political and business information. Includes quarterly and annual reports for Fiji, Tonga, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu, New Caledonia & Samoa.
British empire: colonial history, politics, culture and society 1492-1962. Over 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed material with introductory essays.
Index New Zealand
Index to magazines and newspapers including a selection of Pacific magazines
see List of journals indexed according to subject
Niustext (Pacific Islands Research Archive)
Full-text Pacific news archive. Includes Cook Islands News from 1992, Islands Business and Tongan Newspapers
Public Affairs Information Services Index to social sciences, especially contemporary public issues and public policy.
World History Resource Center (Gale)
Full-text periodicals, extensive collection of primary source documents.
The Pacific on the web
Maps South Pacific
Online maps of the South Pacific - some interactive
New Zealand Electronic Text Centre
An online archive of New Zealand and Pacific Islands texts and heritage materials, which offers a fully searchable set of images and full-text books, manuscripts and journals.
Pacific Legal Gateway
Links to legal websites of the Pacific
Pacific Islands News And Information Links
Links to full-text online newspapers, magazines, radio & TV news and other Pacific related web pages
TVNZ website includes articles, videos, news related to the Pacific
Te Puna Web Directory > Pacific
A subject gateway to selected New Zealand and Pacific Island Internet information resources
Pacific Family History
Pacific Family History - external sites useful for family history research.
The largest collection of free family history, family tree and genealogy records in the world. Includes Pacific records. Many of these records can be accessed using the Family Search Service, located on the 1st floor of the National Library building.
Pacific Islands interests
Newsletter New Zealand Society of Genealogists
Discussion and collaboration on genealogy and family history of indigenous peoples from the Pacific region
Pacific Manuscripts Bureau PAMBU
Locates and microfilms archives, manuscripts & other unpublished material from the Pacific region. Material microfilmed by the Pacific Manuscripts Bureau is available to view in the Reading Rooms, located on the 1st floor of the National Library, Molesworth St, Wellington
Pacific Manuscripts Bureau microfilms can also be borrowed using the interlibrary loan system within New Zealand.