Library and Information Advisory Commission

The Library and Information Advisory Commission Ngā Kaiwhakamarama i ngā Kohikohinga Kōrero (LIAC) was established under the National Library of New Zealand (Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa) Act 2003. LIAC provides advice to the Minister responsible for the National Library on:

  • library and information issues in New Zealand, including mātauranga Māori (Māori knowledge), and access to library and information services
  • the role of library and information services, including mātauranga Māori, in the culture and economic life of New Zealand
  • any other matters requested by the Minister.

LIAC is an unincorporated body consisting of up to six members with the National Librarian as an ex officio member. The National Library provides the administrative services for the Commission and LIAC's annual budget is provided through the National Library’s appropriation.

The LIAC Commissioners are:

David Reeves (Chair, term expires September 2021)

Carolyn Robertson (term expires September 2020)

Helen Tait (term expires September 2020)

Dr. Judith Johnston (term expires September 2021)

Te Paea Paringatai (term expires November 2021)

Vanisa Dhiru (term expires March 2023)

Bill Macnaught, National Librarian (ex officio member)

For more information

LIAC website

Email for more information.