Feature Image: Jean Wright Award

Jean Wright Award

The late Jean Wright, a former Librarian in Charge of the Country Library Service Regional office in Christchurch, established a trust fund to further the library education and training of librarians. The Jean Wright Award is managed by the National Library under the terms of Jean Wright's will. Applicants for the award must be from a public library serving a New Zealand community of not more than 15,000 people and that is supported financially by the local authority.

Applications for the Jean Wright Award are called for in June of each year, for training undertaken within that calendar year.

For more information please contact Deborah Debbage on (04) 474 3027 or Deborah.Debbage@dia.govt.nz.

Feature image: Detail of Country Library Service bus and librarians, Christchurch, 1955. Ref: PAColl-6203-03.